Where do you get ideas from?

In her article on Marketing Trends to Watch in the October issue of Library Journal, Alison Circle makes an excellent point about how we usually exclusively at libraries for ideas and trends. “We’re guilty of a little too much me-too-ism. As a marketing professional I see trends everywhere, ideas ripe for libraries to pluck and make their own.”

Here are my top three non-library sources for ideas:

1. Fast Company Magazine – this innovative business magazine helps me feel fresh. Plus I love Dan & Chip Heath’s column.

2. Seth Godin. His blog and thoughts are marketing usually make me stop and say “hmmm” Love his ideas on customer service.

3. Networking Groups – I belong to a local public relations association and each month I have the opportunity to hear what other local businesses are doing, as well as hear a speaker on a public relations topic.

What are your sources for ideas?

This entry was posted in Cool Ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

