Investigating the Case for the 4Rs sent to libraries and schools

The Illinois Dept. of Commerce & Economic Opportunity sent 10 kits called “Investigating the Case for the 4Rs” to various libraries throughout the state. These heavy duty plastic cases, suitable for K-Adult, are loaded with a variety of hands-on educational tools emphasizing the importance of the 4Rs – Reduce, Reuse, Recycle, and Rethink. The cases include videos, educational resources, and wide variety of products made from recycled materials such as aluminum, steel, paper, plastic, rubber and glass. Information about renewable resources like corn and soy are also included. The cases provide a great opportunity to introduce the fourth “R” – Rethink. Rethink means looking at products and purchases in a new way, and considering whether a product is made with recycled content or is recyclable. Rethinking helps make everyone make smarter consumer choices.

There was a tremendous number of organizations that indicated an interest in the kits, so the kits were sent to large organizations located centrally in areas of many requests. Here is a list of those receiving kits. Please contact them about borrowing.

1. Alliance Library System
Kitty Pope
600 High Point Lane
East Peoria, IL 61611
kpope@alliancelibrarysystem.com

2. Prairie Area Library System
Rockford Service Center
Jane Lenser
4863 American Road
Rockford, IL 61109
janel@palsnet.info

3.Crystal Lake Public Library
Cynthia Lopuszynski
126 Paddock St.
Crystal Lake, IL 60014
clopuszynski@crystallakelibrary.org

4. Cook Memorial Library
Colleen Koebel
801 Technology Way
Libertyville, IL 60048
ckoebel@cooklib.org

5. Mount Prospect Public Library
Erin Emerick
10 S. Emerson
Mount Prospect, IL 60056
eemerick@mppl.org

6. Bellwood Public Library
Kristin Schultz
600 Bohland Ave.
Bellwood, IL 60104
schultzk@bellwoodlibrary.org

7. Blue Island Public Library
Jim Deiters
2433 York St.
Blue Island, IL 60406
jdeiters@blueislandlibrary.org

8. Wentworth Intermediate School Library
Nancy Mackrola
530 Superior Ave.
Calumet City, IL 60409-3439
nmackrola@calumetcity155.org

9. Crete Public Library
Tiffany Amschl
1177 N. Main St.
Crete, IL 60417
amschlt@sslic.net

10. Orland Park Library
Nancy Heuser
14921 Ravinia Avenue
Orland Park, IL 60462
nheuser@orlandparklibrary.org

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Campaign Concepts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s